top of page
'Back To The Land' by Percy Fletcher

Percy Eastman Fletcher (1879-1932) made his living as Musical Director to a number of London Theatres He was also influential in the composition of Brass Band music for competitions, in particular his tone poem Labour & Love (1913) and his Epic Symphony (1926).


A review of Fletcher's work can be seen by Clicking Here.

The Musicians' Company Archive Project

The 1909 Music for Military Band Competition was won by Fletcher with his Suite in 3 movements called Back to the Land. The existence or whereabouts of the original manuscript is unknown. However, it was published in 1910 by Oliver Hawkes & Son, but with an amended title: Woodland Pictures - Rustic Suite. It contained 3 Movements:


1 - Introduction & Dance: "In The Hayfields"

2 - Romance: "An Old World Garden"

3 - Humoreske: "The Bean Feast"

The Musicians' Company Archive Project
The Musicians' Company Archive Project
The Musicians' Company Archive Project

The opening page of the 1st movement is shown above and includes reference in the introduction to it having won this WCOM competition. Click on the image to download the full orchestral score and parts. The 3 movement suite for Military Band was eventually arranged for piano solo and published by Hawkes & Son in 1920. The Company owns a copy of that publication, the front and first pages are shown left - click on the image for an expanded view.


Fletcher also won third prize in this 1909 Competition - Click Here for further information.

:              :

bottom of page