top of page
'Ars Longa' by F. Cunningham Woods

Fourth place in the 1909 Music for Military Band Competition was awarded to Mr Francis Cunningham Woods (1862-1929) for his Suite in C Major called Ars Longa. It contained 3 movements:


1 - Prelude . . . . . . C Major

2 - Valse & Trio . . G Major & C minor

3 - March . . . . . . . C Major


The Company retains the original manuscript score and it is presented below. There are over 100 pages, click on an image to see it larger, scroll back and forth through the pages and click on Go to link for a detailed view of any particular one.

The Musicians' Company Archive Project

F. Cunningham Woods had been a pupil of Sir Arthur Sullivan. In 1894 he became Head of Music at Highgate School, Further biographical details are available at www.joemasonspage. Thanks are sent to Mr Mason and Highgate School archives for the photo.

:              :

bottom of page