top of page
The Dankworth Prize for Jazz Composition

The Dankworth Prize ws established by Art Mead in 2007, and has been administered by the Musicians’ Company, generously sponsored by the Wavendon Foundation, since 2011. There are two prizes for original jazz compositions.  One for a composition for Big Band and one for a composition for Small Ensemble of 7-9 players.


Entrants must be aged 28 or under on the date that their entry is submitted.


Past Winners:

2008 - James Hamilton (Leeds) Big Band

         - Nicky Jacques (Birmingham) Small Ensemble
2009 - James Beckwith (Leeds) Big Band

         - Matt Roberts (Leeds) Small Ensemble
2010 - Matt Roberts (Trinity) Big Band

         - Yuriy Galkin (RAM) Small Ensemble
2011 - Laura Jurd (Trinity) Big Band - click here for more information

         - Alex Roth (RAM) Small Ensemble
2012 - James Opstad (RAM) Big Band

         - No competition for Small Ensemble Composition
2013 - Daniel Thorne (WAusAPA) Big Band

         - Tom Green (Cambridge & RAM) Small Ensemble
2014 - Misha Mullov-Abbado (RAM) Big Band

         - Andrew Woodhead (Birmingham) Small Ensemble
2015 - Chris McMurran (Cambridge) Big Band

         - Ralph Wyld (RAM) Small Ensemble

2016 - Matthew Read, Big Band

         - Billy Marrows, Small Ensemble

2017 - Jacky Naylor, Big Band

         - Matt Anderson, Small Ensemble

2018 - Billy Marrows, Big Band

         - Luke Bainbridge, Small Ensemble

2019 - Charlie Bates, Big Band

         - Wilber Whitta, Small Ensemble

2020 - Eddie Lee, Big Band

         - Alex Paxton, Small Ensemble

2021 - Tom Niblock, Big Band

         - Andrew Chen, Small Ensemble

2022 - Benedict Quinn, Big Band

         - Reuben Goldmark, Small Ensemble


:              :

bottom of page