top of page
The Lord Mayor's Composition Prize

A biennial competition for young composers aged under 35. Applicants are all UK citizens. Launched in 2012 (following a suggestion by Liveryman Michael Hockney), each competition has a different and specific brief for the eight-minute composition: 

2012 - string quintet

2013 - organ

2015 - piano trio

2017 - wind quintet

2019 - solo voice, piano and a single melodic obbligato instrument

2022 - setting for choir and organ of the Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis

The premiere of the winning composition is often hosted by the Lord Mayor at Mansion House.


Click on the blue highlighted name of the piece below to see further details and a score example.


Past Winners:

2012 - Adam Kornas (Paradise Regained)

2013 - Robert Busiakiewicz (A Luddless Marriage)

2015 - William Cole (Bind, Weave, Spin) 

2017 - Leo Geyer (Sideshows Suite) 

2019 - Joanna Ward (cuts, round, slow-moving)

2022 - Sebastian Johnson (Norwich Service)



:              :

bottom of page